Introduce your kids to the joy of classical music.

The Norwalk Symphony Orchestra (Not) Just For Kids program is a lively, fun and interactive program designed to be educational as well as entertaining...and it's free!  Members of the orchestra demonstrate their instruments, play for the children, and answer questions in hour long presentations. Throughout the season presentations are made for all instrument families: strings, woodwinds, brass, and percussion. All programs end with attendees having a chance to hold and try to play a beginning level instrument in the “Petting Zoo”.

2019-2020 Schedule (click here for PDF)

  • Friday, September 20 and Saturday, September 21, 2019: Musical Journeys - Brass

  • Friday, November 1 and Saturday, November 2, 2019: America and Friends - Strings

  • Friday, December 6 and Saturday, December 7, 2019: Ring in the Season - Timpani

  • Friday, January 31 and Saturday, February 1, 2020: Broadway Bound! - Mixed Soloists

  • Friday, March 13 and Saturday, March 14, 2020: Magical Music - Woodwinds

  • Friday, May 8 and Saturday, May 9, 2020: You can be an Opera Star! - Mixed Soloists

All Friday after-school events are held at 4:45 pm at the Norwalk City Hall, 125 East Ave., Norwalk CT (space limited; call 203-956-6771 to reserve)

All Saturday events are held at the following locations:

  • 11:00 am - Norwalk Public Library, 1 Belden Ave,, Norwalk, CT(203-899-2780)

  • 1:00 pm - New Canaan Public Library, Lamb Room, 151 Main St., New Canaan CT(203-594-5000)

  • 3:00 pm - Wilton Library, 137 Old Ridgefield Rd., Wilton, CT(203-762-6336)

With gratitude to our sponsors.